Am I Cut Out to be a Leader?

  
 “Leadership” has been a buzzword for decades. Everyone is looking for it. Your next employer wants to see leadership skills and experience on your resume. Your college is looking for leadership roles you held in high school. Clubs you were president of, newspapers and yearbooks you were the editor of. 

Recently, a friend of mine spoke proudly about his daughter who had won the coveted leadership award at her school. She is in second grade. 
But are all of us cut out to be leaders? 
The best leaders I know are also followers and continually place themselves under the authority of other leaders. 

I remember feeling the pressure to maintain leadership positions out of high school. I was in a new town, in a new job, with already strong established leaders. 

I was speaking with a mentor and lamented, “I’m not sure I’m a leader.”

“Why do you say that?”

“Because I’m not leading anything.”

“Does that bother you?”

“Yes! It bothers me a great deal!”

“Then you’re a leader.”

This was the shot in the arm I needed. Leadership opportunities began to show themselves to me and I jumped. 

Leaders look around, see what’s wrong, and they go to work to fix the problems no one else sees. 

Leaders aren’t ok with the status quo. Leaders will not put up with the That’s-How-We’ve-Always-Done-It-Here mentality. 

Are you cut out to be a leader? 

Well, does it bother you when you aren’t leading anything? Do you continually go to work to solve problems others don’t see? (Note: I did not say complain about the problems everyone sees.)

If you said yes, then you’re a leader. 

And if you’re a leader, you should be a good one. Place yourself under the authority of great leaders. Follow the leadership of those who are championing great causes. Read non-fiction books that will teach you great leadership. Find leadership blogs that challenge your thinking. Listen to leadership podcasts. Go to work. Find the problems and lead as though your life depended on it.  

Because you know what? 

It does. 

Leave a Reply

