Rob’s Recommended Reading List of 2015

Here are a few books I’ve read this year that have stuck with me, had an impact, and changed the way I think. 

  
The Five Dysfunctions of a Team by Patrick Lencioni. I worked through this with one of my teams in the early part of 2015. It took some time, but it layed the ground work for great communication and team work for years to come. 

  
Let’s Pretend We’re Normal by Tricia Lott Williford. It’s really good. Even if the author wasn’t my sister, I’d still say this was a damn good book. Bonus: Don’t miss her first one, And Life Comes Back
  
Think and Grow Rich by Napoleon Hill. So, confession, I finished this book in 2015, but I’m not sure when I started it! It takes a while to work though, to truly do the exercises and answer the questions, but so worth it. This one goes in the category of books I’ll forever be reading. 
  
Do Over by Jon Acuff. If this don’t light your fire, your wood’s wet. As kids, when we didn’t like how something went, we had no problem calling for a “do over”. When did we lose that right? Encouraging, challenging, motivating, and funny. 
  
The Power of Habit by Charles Duhigg. The brilliant science and stories behind why we continue to do what we do.
  
Stay Alive All Your Life by Norman Vincent Peale. Another classic text with timeless principles on how to do and be better. 
  
The Real-Life MBA by Jack and Suzy Welch. For those of us creative types who sometimes need to deal with the business and numbers types, this is a great how-to text that’ll help you hold your own at the big kids’ table. 

  
 One Word by Jon Gordon, Dan Britton, and Jimmy Page. I’ve been doing the one word challenge for the last few years. The challenge: Narrow your focus for the year down to one word. If you’ve never done it, I can’t urge you enough to give it a try! This book (which I read in less than an hour) will walk you through finding your word and how to live it out. 

Those are mine. 

What did you read this year that stuck?

Leave a Reply

