Would You Believe It?

Growing up, whenever my family would find themselves in a strange place or with an unusual grouping of people, my dad would look around and he’d say,

“A year ago, if someone had shown us a picture of us right now…” or “Ten years ago, if someone had shown us a picture of us with this group of people…”

He’d smile and take it all in for one more moment, and then he’d say,

“Would we have believed it?”

It was his way of reminding us that this place we are in right now, not too long ago, was thought to be unattainable.

Or it was his way of making all of us rush back and speed through all our memories that got us to this place.

The random meetings.

The opportunities that lead to more opportunities that lead to more opportunities that lead to here.

To this day, whenever I find myself standing in a place I never thought I’d be, I often ask myself,

“Ten years ago, if someone showed you a picture of you right now, would you believe it?”

It’s not nostalgic reminiscing. It’s an appreciation of where I’ve come from and the people I’ve met that got me here.

At some point this week, maybe even right now as you are reading this, take a look around.

Would you have believed it?

Leave a Reply

